top of page

Medical checks in Belgium and a new contract.

I spent the third October week in Belgium. The medical checks came first. I was waiting for the results with a bit of tension. Luckily my back is healing up nicely. But of course, because I have a metal structure instead of my first lumbar vertebra and a stabilization for a part of my thoracic spine, my flexibility will never be the same as it used to be. The damaged nerves in my left leg are also getting better, but for now, some of my muscles do not function as they should and it is uncertain if they will heal one day permanently. But I do not think about this too much. I am willing to come back in full strength.


I let go all the doubts about whether my body will allow me to come back. Only time will show, if I will regain full strength. I have maximal support from my team and the doctors allowed me to put my body under full load. I am totally determined to continue with my journey back to the pack.

More muscles and a bit of metal

After the medical checks in the hospital, I traveled to Leuven to the Bakala Academy training center. A body composition analysis was done first. I put up 1.6 kg of muscles since August, out of this 1.5 kg on my legs and I reached the same values as before my injury. Also, the level of body fat is equal to my former values. I was pleasantly surprised. As I was trying to regain the lost muscle mass, I expected the fat values would rise too. It was also interesting to compare the total weight of bones now and before the accident. The metal parts are evaluated as bones by the device, so after a simple calculation, I found out that I have some 400g more on my back. Ironman.


I spent the following three hours on an ergometer. I did not think much about having the nerves damaged. During the previous weeks of training, I felt great and I was sure that the numbers will confirm my feelings. A series of sprints were done first. The maximum performance at various frequencies was measured as well as the proportion of power in the left and right leg. It was clear to me that I will be still behind in these parameters. The numbers from the training sessions clearly showed that I was still far behind my maximal values. What was important was the positive progress in comparison with the tests done in August. One measurement may not tell that much, it is important to compare the evolution of the values over time. I do not stress about how much I have to improve to get to the ideal parameters. I enjoy the fact that the development is positive and keep my focus to make it even better.



Endurance parameters. My first race. New contract

It was for the first time I was looking forward to doing this. It is pure suffering. You start with a cruise tempo and the load increases every eight minutes. You go as far as you can. It lasts about seventy minutes. The pain comes in about halfway and you know it will only get worse. In the end. You breathe through a mask that measures oxygen consumption. Nothing enjoyable. And You get the mask at the moment when you gasp for air. I knew very well what is ahead of me. I have done it perhaps fifteen times. But this time I was really looking forward to it. I took it as a race. My peak of the season. The moment of truth that will show how much I have trained this year. I planned my menu, I mentally prepared for the pain that was coming up and imagined the course of the test. I even felt a similar nervosity as before a race. I had a hell of a time. I enjoyed it though. I never dig so deep in training sessions as in the races. It was only a test, but it was a competition for me. I always try to do my best and destroy myself during testing, but this time I did even more. And the results were nice. I am at the same level as in December last year! I thought it would be good but never dreamed about such results. We discussed the results with my coach and dietician and started to make plans for the following months. I let go all the doubts about whether my body will allow me to return. Only time will show, if I will regain full strength. I have maximal support from my team and the doctors allowed me to put my body under full load. I am totally determined to continue with my journey back to the pack.



Team meeting. Friends and fans

In the morning I went about a hundred kilometers westward to Tielt. This year´s meeting was related to the celebrations of the 25th anniversary of the co-operation of matrasses manufacturer Latexco with our team. It is probably the longest partnership in professional cycling. And there was more to be celebrated. The team has had the best season in history – 73 wins in total. Also, we officially launched the book of photographer Sigfrid Eggers: Wolfpack: 365 days on the road that documented our season. Hundreds of people came for the first books with autographs. For me, it was one of few chances to meet fans this year. I enjoyed time spent with them and appreciated their support. The meeting with all the team was very emotional, I had not seen some of the team members since the accident nine months ago and I really missed being with our Wolfpack. It is such a wonderful team.



Time off. And back on the bike.

At first, I did not plan to take any time off. I did not race this year. But when I look back I realize, how demanding the year has been. I agreed with my coach and put the bike aside for a couple of days. Since the moment I returned from the hospital, I was working hard all the time. Rehabilitation walks, pedaling on the modified ergometer. It was hard training for me at the time. And since August I have been in full training. Riding some 20-25 hours a week. Plus, rehabilitation, the gym, yoga, breathing exercises. To keep my back fit, I have to pay much more attention to cross-training.

This year, I skipped the traditional traveling around the World. I merely went to the Giant Mountains in the north of the Czech Republic for a couple of days and spent the rest of my free time with my family and friends. I went to the sauna, had massages and read two books. I simply allowed my body to have some well-deserved rest and refueled my energy for the coming months. The time off passes so quickly every year. Before I realize, four weeks are gone, and it is time to restart training again. This year I only rested for 10 days. Nevertheless, I could not wait to restart my training routine again.

222 zobrazení0 komentářů

Nejnovější příspěvky

Zobrazit vše
Anchor 1
bottom of page